CHARLOTTESVILLE REDEVELOPMENT & HOUSING AUTHORITY

P.O. BOX 1405

CHARLOTTESVILLE, VIRGINIA 22902

TELEPHONE/TTY/711: (434) 326-4672 FAX: (434) 971-4797

www.cvillerha.com

Dear Residents of 6th Street Community,



October 21, 2022

This serves a written notice that the Charlottesville Redevelopment and Housing Authority (CRHA) Public Housing Authority intends to submit an application to the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) to demolish, liquidate, or otherwise dispose of 707-713 Sixth Street SE.

Any housing authority is required by Section 36-7.2 of the Code of Virginia to serve a notice of intent to demolish, liquidate, or otherwise dispose of such housing project at least 6 months prior to any application submission date to HUD. Notification must be sent to the Virginia Department of Housing and Community Development (DHCD) and each tenant residing in the housing project.

The anticipated date of application submitted to HUD: May 1st , 2023

Local Legal Aid Society: Name: Legal Aid Justice Center Address: 1000 Preston Ave, Charlottesville Va., 22903 Phone Number: (434) 977-0553

To request more information on the application process to HUD, timeline, and how this may impact residents, please contact: Name: Brandon Collins Phone Number: (434) 531-1537 Email: collinsb@cvillerha.com Website: www.cvillerha.com

To submit comments in writing about the demolition, liquidation, or disposal of Sixth Street SE please e-mail or send mail to Brandon Collins <u>collinsb@cvillerha.com</u> or PO Box 1405 Charlottesville, Va 22902

Know your rights as a tenant!

During the 12-month period after the housing authority submits this notice to you and DHCD, your rent will not be increased, your rental agreement will not change, except as permitted under the existing rental agreement; you cannot be evicted, except for a lease violation (including nonpayment of rent) or violation of law that threatens the health and safety of the building residents; and the housing authority will not take any action to demolish, liquidate, or otherwise dispose of your unit. Furthermore, the housing authority shall not require you to surrender possession of your unit until at least 12 months after serving this notice unless otherwise allowed by law. Please Note: The information provided applies only to requirements outlined in the Code of Virginia. Any separate or additional HUD requirements still apply.

Respectfully,

Brandon Collins, Redevelopment Coordinator



