
Coverage:
The Virginia Manufactured Home Lot Rental Act (VMHLRA) applies to manufactured home parks upon which five or more 
manufactured homes are located on a continual, nonrecreational basis. It governs the relationship between Manufactured 
Home Park Operators and Manufactured Home Owners who rent land in a park. If you rent your manufactured home, 
please refer to the Virginia Statement of Tenant Rights and Responsibilities under the Virginia Residential Landlord Tenant 
Act. (§55.1-1300)

Tenant Rights
Written lease:  
Under the VMHLRA, a landlord is required to provide a tenant a written lease of not less than one year.  The lease will 
automatically renew for one year unless the landlord gives written notice to the tenant of any change in the terms of the 
lease at least 60 days before the lease ends.  (§55.1-1301, 1302)

Disclosure:  
A landlord must reveal certain information to the tenant, including the name and address of the owner or property 
manager (§55.1-1311, §55.1-1216) and notice of sale or foreclosure of the property. (§55.1-1311, §55.1-1216, 1237).

Security Deposit: 
A landlord may require a security deposit of up to two month s̓ rent. (§55.1-1302, §55.1-1226)

Fees: 
A landlord shall not demand or collect an entrance fee; a commission on the sale of a manufactured home in the park 
(unless the tenant employs the landlord to perform a service in connection with the sale); a fee for cable, internet, or 
satellite service unless the landlord is the service provider; or an exit fee.  (§55.1-1306)

Access:  
A landlord must allow a guest or invitee of the tenant free access to the tenant s̓ manufactured home site without charge 
or registration.  (§55.1-1306)

Sale or Rental of Manufactured Home in the Park: 
A landlord shall not unreasonably reuse or restrict the sale or rental of a manufactured home in the park.  (§55.1-1310)

Fit and Habitable Manufactured Home Park:  
A tenant has the right to a fit and habitable manufactured home park in accordance with laws about health, safety, and 
zoning in manufactured home parks.  The landlord must make all repairs needed to keep the manufactured home park 
fit and habitable. (§55.1-1303)  To enforce the right to get repairs, a tenant must be current in rent, give the landlord 
written notice and wait a reasonable period.  If repairs are not made, a tenant can file a Tenant s̓ Assertion in General 

Virginia Statement of Tenant Rights and Responsibilities under the 
Virginia Manufactured Home Lot Rental Act as of July 1, 2022

This is a summary of tenantsʼ rights and responsibilities under the Virginia Manufactured Home Lot Rental Act.  This 
summary does not modify your lease or Virginia law.  A lease cannot give up a tenant s̓ rights under the law.  The 
information below is not intended as legal advice.  Tenants with questions are encouraged to contact their local 
legal aid program at (866) 534-5243 or valegalaid.org/find-legal-help.

District Court.  This must be filed no later than five days after rent is due.  There is no rent withholding in Virginia, except 
under repair and deduct. (§55.1-1311, §55.1-1244)

Repair and Deduct:
If an issue on the property affects life, health, safety, or seriously affects habitability, and a landlord has not begun to 
address it within 14 days after written notice from the tenant, the tenant may contract to have the repair done by a 
licensed contractor at a cost of not more than $1,500, or one month s̓ rent, whichever is more.  The tenant may deduct the 
actual cost of the repair from the rent.  The tenant must send the landlord an itemized invoice and a receipt for payment 
to the contractor for the work, along with any payment of remaining rent owed. (§55.1-1311, §55.1-1244.1)

Eviction:  
A landlord may not evict a tenant without following the court eviction process.  The landlord first sends a written notice 
and next the landlord files an unlawful detainer lawsuit.  The landlord must get a court order of possession, followed by a 
Writ of Eviction that is served by the Sheriff. (§55.1-1311, §55.1-1245, 1252).  A tenant not getting paid due to a federal 
shutdown of 14 or more days can get an eviction lawsuit for nonpayment of rent postponed for 60 days. (§44-209)

Reasons for Eviction:  
A landlord may evict a tenant only for nonpayment of rent; violation of a building or housing code; violation of the lease 
or law affecting health, safety, or welfare; or two or more lease violations in a 6 month period.  (§55.1-1315)

Unlawful Exclusion, Interruption of Essential Services, and Unlivable Premises: 
A Landlord may not unlawfully exclude a tenant from the premises, interrupt an essential service, or make the unit 
unlivable. If this happens, the tenant may sue the landlord in General District Court and get an initial court hearing in five 
calendar days. At this hearing, a court may order the landlord to give the property back to the tenant, resume the essen-
tial service, or fix the conditions that make the unit unlivable. The court may also hold a second hearing 10 days after the 
first hearing and may find that the tenant is entitled to actual damages, statutory damages, and reasonable attorney s̓ 
fees. (§ 55.1-1311, §55.1-1243.1)

Notice of Intent to Sell: 
A landlord who wants who wants to sell the park must give 90 daysʼ advance notice to each tenant and to the Department 
of Housing and Community Development (DHCD).  If the landlord receives an offer to purchase, the landlord must give 60 
daysʼ advance notice to each tenant and to DHCD, and consider offers from group of at least 25% of park residents.  
(§55.1-1308.2)

Notice of Intent to Sell to Buyer who will Change its Use:
A landlord who wants who wants to sell the park to a buyer who will change its use must give 180 daysʼ advance notice to 
each tenant.  Within the 180-day period, the landlord must give each resident $2,500 in relocation expenses (except in 
Planning District 8 – most of northern Virginia- this amount is $3,500).  Relocation expenses are stipulated on a written 
agreement between the landlord and the resident to remove the home from the park.  (§55.1-1308.1)

Tenant Responsibilities
Charges:
Under the written lease, the charges the tenant must pay are limited to fixed rent, utilities supplied by the landlord, and 
other reasonable services and facilities supplied by the landlord.  (§55.1-1301)
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Maintain Fit and Habitable Exterior and Home Lot: 
The tenant must keep the exterior of the manufactured home and the manufactured home lot as clean and safe as 
conditions allow and in accordance with laws affecting manufactured home owners and tenants.  (§55.1-1304)

Fair Housing:
The tenant may have a right to file a fair housing complaint if the landlord or property manager violates the Virginia Fair 
Housing Act. (§36-96.1 et seq)

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title55.1/chapter13/section55.1-1300/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title55.1/chapter13/section55.1-1301/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title55.1/chapter13/section55.1-1302/
www.law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/55.1-1311/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/55.1-1216/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/55.1-1311/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/55.1-1216/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title55.1/chapter12/section55.1-1237/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title55.1/chapter13/section55.1-1302/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/55.1-1226/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title55.1/chapter13/section55.1-1306/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title55.1/chapter13/section55.1-1306/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title55.1/chapter13/section55.1-1310/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title55.1/chapter13/section55.1-1303/
www.valegalaid.org/find-legal-help
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https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title55.1/chapter13/section55.1-1311/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title55.1/chapter13/section55.1-1244/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title55.1/chapter13/section55.1-1311/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title55.1/chapter13/section55.1-1244/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title55.1/chapter13/section55.1-1311/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title55.1/chapter13/section55.1-1245/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title55.1/chapter13/section55.1-1252/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/44-209/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title55.1/chapter13/section55.1-1315/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/55.1-1311/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title55.1/chapter12/section55.1-1243.1/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title55.1/chapter13/section55.1-1308.2/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title55.1/chapter13/section55.1-1308.1/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title55.1/chapter13/section55.1-1301/
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In accordance with Section §55.1-1303 of the Code of Virginia, the undersigned parties hereby acknowledge that with respect to the dwelling 
unit known as:
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the Landlord has provided to the Tenant and the Tenant has received the Statement of Tenant Rights and Responsibilities 
developed by the Virginia Department of Housing and Community Development and posted on its website
(dhcd.virginia.gov/landlord-tenant-resources) pursuant to Section §36-139 Code of Virginia.

,

Landlord Signature DatePrinted Name

Landlord Agent (if applicable) DatePrinted Name

Tenant Signature DatePrinted Name

Tenant Signature DatePrinted Name

Tenant Signature DatePrinted Name

Tenant Signature DatePrinted Name

Acknowledgement of Receipt of Statement of 
Tenant Rights and Responsibilities

Maintain Fit and Habitable Exterior and Home Lot: 
The tenant must keep the exterior of the manufactured home and the manufactured home lot as clean and safe as 
conditions allow and in accordance with laws affecting manufactured home owners and tenants.  (§55.1-1304)

Fair Housing:
The tenant may have a right to file a fair housing complaint if the landlord or property manager violates the Virginia Fair 
Housing Act. (§36-96.1 et seq)

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title55.1/chapter13/section55.1-1304/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title55.1/chapter13/section36-96.1/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title55.1/chapter13/section55.1-1303/
dhcd.virginia.gov/landlord-tenant-resources
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title36/chapter8/section36-139/

	Printed name 1: 
	0: 
	1: 
	2: 
	3: 
	4: 
	5: 

	Date: 
	0: 
	1: 
	2: 
	3: 
	4: 
	5: 

	Dwelling Unit Know as: 


