

Glenn Youngkin Governor

Caren Merrick Secretary of Commerce and Trade

COMMONWEALTH of VIRGINIA

Bryan W. Horn Director

DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT

Commission on Local Government Public Hearing Loudoun County and Town of Leesburg Voluntary Settlement Agreement March 21, 2024 7:00 p.m.

Ide Lee Recreation Center 60 Ida Lee Dr. NW Leesburg, VA 20176

Members Present
Edwin Rosado, Chair
Diane M. Linderman, PE
Ceasor T. Johnson, D.Min.
Terry Payne

Members Absent
Robert Lauterberg, Vice Chair
(recused)

Staff Present LeGrand Northcutt Grace Wheaton Chase Sawyer

Call to Order

The Commission on Local Government (CLG) Chair, Mr. Edwin Rosado, called the meeting to order at 6:55 p.m.

Commissioner Rosado introduced the Commissioners and staff present at the public hearing. The purpose of the public hearing was to review the Voluntary Settlement Agreement between Loudoun County and the Town of Leesburg.

Commissioner Rosado recognized Mr. Northcutt to provide an overview of the process set out in the Code of Virginia guiding the Commission's review of the proposed Voluntary Settlement Agreement.

Public Comment

Commissioner Rosado recognized those pre-registered to provide comments in-person.

Joel Smart, a business owner in the Town of Leesburg, spoke in favor of the agreement. He noted that the agreement will allow the Town to grow in proportion with its investments in Compass Creek's infrastructure and that the annexation will have no negative financial impact on the County.





Mitra Setayesh, CEO of the Ion Training Center in the Town of Leesburg, spoke in favor of the agreement. She recounted her experience being annexed into the Town in a previous boundary line adjustment. Overall, it was a very positive experience for her and her business, and she enjoys being a part of a smaller municipality and the benefits of the Leesburg police force's presence.

There were no comments from those who had not pre-registered, nor from those attending online.

Commissioner Rosado noted that the record will remain open for additional written comments through 5:00 pm, April 4, 2024.

Adjournment

By voice vote, the Commission moved to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously. The Commission adjourned at 7:15 p.m.



